Need A New Camera

skidude

Alright guys, here's my situation. I'm not very experienced with cameras and I don't really know the ins and outs of one. I need a camera before I go off to college, and I want a good one which is able to capture the most amount of detail possible. I want to be able to take some really dramatic outdoor nature pictures, since that's what I love the most. I'm leaning towards one of the point-and-shoot cameras due to my budget (around $300) and lack of experience with cameras. I've looked around and came down to 2 choices, I just want opinions on which is better. Suggestions for different cameras are also welcome!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830180146

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830113076

MBGraphics

VIP Member
Yeah, definatly go for that if you can afford it, if not, go with the Kodak I listed, cant go wrong with either one.
and if you dont want anything as "big" as those two, go with the Nikon you posted ;).

MBGraphics

VIP Member
Im not sure of all of them, but the lense quality is better especially throughout the zoom range. The burst mode is better, has a few more features i believe.
Definatly worth it for the few extra dollars ;)

skidude

I think im gonna buy one tonight. Maybe with a new camera I might have actually a glimmer of hope to win a photo tourney :p

Geoff

VIP Member
I think im gonna buy one tonight. Maybe with a new camera I might have actually a glimmer of hope to win a photo tourney :p
To give you an idea of what the S3 IS can do, which is basically identical except for being 6MP vs 8MP, here are some sample pictures:

IMG_2190.jpg

IMG_2338.jpg

IMG_3781.jpg

YellowFlowerCloseup.jpg

IMG_0395.jpg

IMG_4169.jpg

IMG_2390.jpg

IMG_2132.jpg

IMG_2128.jpg

IMG_1878.jpg

All of those are unedited as well.

Last edited:

Geoff

VIP Member