Netbook vs. Tablet

leapinglizards

I am a college student looking for a something small to take to class with me that I could use to access the internet and run Microsoft Word. I'm not really too concerned about any other features, as I have a large laptop computer that I plan to primarily use. Like I said, I really just need something small and light that I can bring to class. Any computer experts out there want to weigh in on the benefits of a netbook, tablet, or maybe even an iPad. Recommendations of specific brands/models would be especially appreciated. Thanks!

voyagerfan99

Master of Turning Things Off and Back On Again
Staff member
Go with an ASUS Eee PC netbook. I got a tablet and thought I'd take notes in class with it, but it's too much of a pain in the ass. You can't type very fast with a tablet.

Mishkin

I strongly agree with voyager. A netbook would be immensely better than a tablet for taking to class with you. The typing and comfort level of it would be about 1,000 times better than a tablet, and it would take up a similar amount of space in a bookbag. Really a no-brainer.

Also, if all you're really going to use it for is taking notes, any netbook would do. I have a cheapo $250 Acer Aspire One I got at Walmart, and it works and runs well.

Mishkin

The answer to that question really comes down to what you want to use a mobile computer for. Netbooks make excellent choices for those that want to use their standard computer programs but in a mobile format. It is also excellent for using them heavily for creation of typed documents as the keyboards are better than virtual ones on a touchscreen. On the other hand, if you want to just pick up a mobile PC and use it to watch some videos, check mail or play a game or two, then a tablet PC is a more compact and easy to use platform. Before deciding which one is right for you, take a close look at what you want to use it for.
Thanks

Pointless. The OP already told us what he will be using it for.

trewyn15