networking advice

now that i have my windows 8 sorted out im looking to upgrade my network before i do anything else. right now i have 12 different devices connected at any given time some being 4 computers/laptops other 6 phones/ipod and tablets and two game systems. right now i have a cheap linksys as my router im just getting into this so need a lil help i know network speeds slow down a ton when more devices connect esp when streaming videos like i know some of the kids plan to do after they get their new laptops and tablet. how can i boost my networking? everything is wireless besides one desktop and i have the xbox hardwired to router. do i need to upgrade router? or maybe add an access point? we live in an apartment right now so all one level but plan on getting a house in the next year hopefully.

turbodiesel

upgrading your router/AP point will not create a mega difference it speed it may be slightly quicker though

what you want to do is upgrade your service with your ISP to a better speed

now that i have my windows 8 sorted out im looking to upgrade my network before i do anything else. right now i have 12 different devices connected at any given time some being 4 computers/laptops other 6 phones/ipod and tablets and two game systems. right now i have a cheap linksys as my router im just getting into this so need a lil help i know network speeds slow down a ton when more devices connect esp when streaming videos like i know some of the kids plan to do after they get their new laptops and tablet. how can i boost my networking? everything is wireless besides one desktop and i have the xbox hardwired to router. do i need to upgrade router? or maybe add an access point? we live in an apartment right now so all one level but plan on getting a house in the next year hopefully.