New Hard Drives Not Being Recognized

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBG

I'm in the process of building a computer and I really don't know what I'm doing. I have however managed to get it together, but when I turn on the computer and run the BIOS I don't think it's recognizing my hard drives. My mobo is an nForce 780i SLI and the HDs are 500gb seagate barracuda SATA whatever all that means lol. So anyways when I go into the Standard CMOS Features in the BIOS, under the date and time I only see the following:

IDE Channel 0 Master [None]
IDE Channel 0 Slave [None]

then Drive A and Halt On but no SATA Channels like the instructions that came with the mobo shows. I have the HDs hooked up correctly to the best of my knowledge. I used the sata cables that came with the mobo and put them into the SATA 1 and SATA 2 spots on the mobo as shown in the directions. For power I just plugged the connectors from the PSU that fit the HDs.

Am I missing anything? I've never done this before so I'm totally clueless as to what to do next.

Last edited:

PC eye

banned
When starting up a new build for the first time you have to enter time and date and go through all sections for things like OS2, plug'n'play, and then exit the bios setup with the "exit and save" option to see the system restart. The drives should then be displayed on the post screen. If you don't see them in the boot order section listed under hard drives then something still isn't right like bad cables or simply not plugged in fully at both ends.

dannaswolcott

I would check the jumpers again. Make sure they are correct. My hard drive on my one computer died today and when i put in my new hard drive this evening i put in the jumpers wrong and my computer did not pick it up. I was able to put the jumpers in the correct way ( master ) and now its working fine.

PC eye

banned