NEWBIE here

theboy

Hey just joined the site...Looks like a ton of good material.

WEll I will get straight to the point.

Tonight I built my first PC ( Or at least tried to) And thought I have everything connected. Powerd the unit on and smell something funny. No longer then10 seconds later my cd-rom/dvd-rom combo drive is smoking. white smoke everywhere. Im frantic and cannot figure where the power button is because ( Im really tired and shouldnt have done this tonight in the first place....ahh) So everything is unplugged right now & my room is a terrible smell of burnt plastic.

Now I really hope someone can tell me what I did wrong....YES YES laugh all you want, Hey im a new to all this and am a bit cocky.

Thanks to anyone that can help.

34erd

We're going to need your spes before we can help you. Questions 101

Did you use a molex conector that split off from another fan? That can cause problems.

Also unplug components not needed to boot (CD drive, floppy, hard drive) and see if it boots properly.

Oh and did you remember to place standoffs?

theboy

Hey thanks for the fast reply 34erd.

AMD athlon 64bit
gigabyte technology
512mb ddr400 ram
76gig IBM hard drive (set on master)
cd-rw/dvd-rom combo drive (set on master)

Now I am a newbie here as posted eariler.
I am currently using the 300watt power supply that came with my case...there is some sort of splitter that is connected (power) to my cd drive and is also connected to my system fan....I think that may be the case.

what is a standoff??? please help.

Right now i am going to unplug the drives...good idea.

Thanks!

b182tm

A standoff is a brass screw you screw into the inside of your case between the motherboard and the case, to keep the mobo off of the metal of the case. And are you sure the smoke came from the cd/dvd drive?

D

theboy

Jesus I should have really Read up on this whole bit before I installed. NOw I know what those brass screws are...LOL