PC build on a $350 budget possible?

My current desktop is an i3-2100 with a pretty basic ASUS motherboard, 8 gigs of RAM, and a Radeon graphics card (can't remember exactly which one). I bought it approximately 4 years ago. It cost me $350 and I was mostly happy with it. The only thing that didn't really work out was the Realtek soundcard, and the front ports for the sound and USB malfunctioned very soon. So it was a mixed bag.

Now, I realize that 2 cores don't really cut it anymore, so I am looking to buy a 4 core build, but not from the 7th generation. Maybe from the 5th or 4th. Granted, I have no experience or knowledge of the hardware available and I have been out of the loop for a long time. So I could use some advice.

What I want to do with the rig:
- Possibly play DOOM without any lag (not on the highest settings)
- Have the option to play modern games (2013 and later)

I am not sure if I can fit this into such a small budget though. I already have a monitor, keyboard, etc. I just need the tower.

So the starting point:
- Intel i5 series processor (4th/5th/6th generation)
- Matching motherboard to house 4 to 8 gigs of RAM (maybe transferred over from the old rig, I will post details later), and a graphics card
- Graphics card that is still relevant
- HDD 1,000GB+ to install software. I store my media on a portable drive.
- Do you buy sound cards or just use the integrated sound? (Realtek is really bad for me, having a lot of problems, like crackles and pops, and stuttering)

Thanks for reading, and I am listening. :)

Calin

If you want a decent graphics card in that budget, you can't really fit an i5 in there. I made this partlist. I went with a Haswell i3 so that you can reuse your old DDR3 RAM, a decent RX 460, a 1Tb HDD as you requested and a PSU since I'm pretty sure the one you have right now is pretty bad. And I personally don't recommend soundcards, especially for budget builds. I always used the motherboard onboard sound