Trying Linux Mint

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by OmniDyne, Sep 10, 2018.

1. OmniDyne

OmniDyne Active Member

Booting Linux Mint Cinnamon from a USB drive. If I like it, I think I'll dual boot from now on, and probably eventually replace Windows.

2. beers

beers Moderator Staff Member

Okay.

3. OmniDyne

OmniDyne Active Member

You're so edgy.

4. Deerling7

Deerling7 Active Member

So, how is Linux Mint?

5. UnholyVision

UnholyVision Member

Welcome to GNU/Linux. :) I have been a Linux user for years, but made the full time switch to Linux upon the release of Windows 10. If you have any questions, need of program alternative suggestions, et cetera I'm happy to help.

6. multi-tasker-X

multi-tasker-X Member

i've been using it for almost 2 years,

i will probably never go back to windows

took me a while to get used to the terminal, it was scary and frustrating at first, the more i use linux, the more i love the terminal,

i do have a windows desktop, but i use it for gaming only, my main desktop and all my other desktops and laptops use linux

i think the biggest problem was that i started using ubunutu, it difficult to get around ubunutu, their menu is confusing,

mint is awesome

7. UnholyVision

UnholyVision Member

Have you tried Proton yet? It might just let you replace Windows. I have gotten just about every game I have thrown at it working. It honestly could replace Windows for a lot of people in the gaming area.

One of my latest Windows games I've been playing on Linux. All from a click of install on Steam and no modifying anything.

Ubuntu Unity or Gnome? Only curious as to the horrors you faced. :p