How do you apply Thermal paste to a Direct Heat Pipe design cooler?

Computer_Freak

Hey guys

i have a Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus

I basically put some thermal paste (Small vertical stripe) on each heatpipe.

the that the right way of doing it?

or do you apply it any other way?

cause between the heat pipe and the aluminium block, there is small gaps where the excess paste can "escape"

check it out, and tell me the correct way of applying paste on this type of heatsink.

This is the heatsink base. note the space between the pipes and the aluminium block

http://www.frostytech.com/articleimages/200907/CMhyper212plus_base.jpg

thanks guys

Last edited:

87dtna

I would NOT do it that way. You could have hot spots on the CPU.

I would put about 2 dots the size of a rice grain on the CPU, take a razor blade and spread it out pretty thin evenly across the entire chip. This way everything has thermal paste on it for sure and far less chance of hot spots.

funkysnair

VIP Member
put one pea sized amount in the middle of your cpu, pur your heatsink ontop with a little pressure (move it side to side a small amount mind) then you fix and tighten the heatsink to the mobo!

once you have made contact with the heatsink on the cpu do not break the bond as it will create air bubbles!

its not difficult but it is important

87dtna

That only works well with Intel CPU's because the heat comes from the center of the chip. With AMD's you have to spread it because if you don't put enough in the middle it won't spread far enough and again could cause hot spots near the corners.

I used the pea method as well with my I5, but I don't recommend it on AMD chips... use the spread method.

Jamin43

banned
I used this method

dollop.jpg

smear.jpg

http://techreport.com/articles.x/13671/1

The_Other_One

VIP Member