Is it worth it for me to overclock...?

gillmanjr

I wanted to run this by the experts on here because I have very little experience overclocking. Here is my system:

-ASRock Z97 1150 mobo
-i5 4670k
-MSI R9 390
-8 GB GDDR3

I am currently playing Far Cry 5, which I have been waiting for for years. Great game by the way. I've got an older Dell 2k IPS monitor and I'm able to run Far Cry at all high settings pretty easily, it doesn't dip below 50 Hz much (monitor is only 60 Hz). If I push it to the ultra settings it'll still run but dips down into the 30s so I keep it on high.

My question for you guys is this: do you think it would make a difference if I OC'd the i5? I was just thinking about taking it up to 4.0 GHz, is it worth it? Its only air cooled but I do have a Zalman CPU cooler, one of the solid copper ones with 2 fans and my case is heavily ventilated so it will handle the heat. The issue is I don't have a lot of experience overclocking and frankly don't really even know how to do it, I would have to read up on it. But if it isn't going to make a difference with gaming I don't want to risk it.

There is one other thing too: I am planning on getting an ultrawide monitor very soon (1440p ultrawide), do you think I will HAVE to overclock and possibly even upgrade my GPU for that?

Thanks for any input...

Agent Smith

Looking at the specs fot your GPU, I think you should be able to handle that new monitor. Overclocking is not necessary.