Newb With Antivirus 2009 Problems....

ant_8u

Hi Guys

First off may I start by saying I have very little computer knowledge, so I may get things mixed up but please bear with me, your help is greatly appreciated

My sisters laptop has just got the Antivirus 2009 on it
I've read a bit about it and done a few searches but can't find anything quite the same as the problems she's having

In normal mode the desktop icons and start bar have disappeared
I can eventually get the task manager to open but it's really slow
The CPU is always at 100% even though it's not doing anything
The mouse/touchpad is disabled

I can restart the computer in safemode and everything appears to be there
But once again the mouse is disabled and the CPU is at 100%

I have used another computer to download and save Malwarebytes onto an external hard drive
I then connected the hard drive to the laptop and tried to run it but it does nothing as the CPU is already at 100%

From what I have read it looks like I can solve the problem my running Malwarebytes and ccleaner etc... but I am unable to do this as I cannot move the mouse or get the CPU down from 100%

I spoke to the guys at PC world today as I'd given up - But when they said they'd charge £150 to format/ system restore the thing I though I'd give it another go again myself

I hope i've done a good enough job to explain things - like i said i'm really new to this and don't have a great understanding

Can I enable the mouse and reduce the CPU usage in order to run malwarebytes, or is there more to it than that?

Thanks in advance

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member