MineCraft

Discussion in 'Computer Games and Consoles' started by ScottALot, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. 1337dingo

    1337dingo Active Member

    Messages:
    2,170
    mo'creatures mod is so good
     
  2. teamhex

    teamhex Active Member

    Messages:
    1,968
    So can I put this mod on my server or is this for single player only? It sounds really good.
     
  3. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    single player. It is fantastic too if the guy would ever get to updating it! He said he had laptop issues....I told him call me and id have it fixed within a hour on the phone.

    Anything to speed this up ~_~
     
  4. ScottALot

    ScottALot Active Member

    Messages:
    4,963
    0_0
    [yt]UjEz4Op9dFM[/yt]
     
  5. 1337dingo

    1337dingo Active Member

    Messages:
    2,170
    i dont get it
     
  6. Aastii

    Aastii VIP Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    It is a fully working clock.

    The top lights represent single minutes, the middle represent 5 minutes, the bottom represent hours.

    If you had 3 of the top lights, 6 of the middle and 2 of the bottom on, it would be:

    2, because of 2 at the bottom

    30 because of 6 in the middle (6 x 5)

    +3 becaus of three on the top

    therefore 2:33

    and it all works off minecarts, water, boosters and a bit of simple circuitry, which is pretty awesome
     
  7. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    messing about on your server if thats ok, building a castle although i'm not the best architect in the world :D
     
  8. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    this is taking an age! using stone so need to mine cobblestone then use the furnace, its a fair size now though!
     
  9. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    The work so far

    [​IMG]

    outside from the ground

    [​IMG]

    Ground Floor

    [​IMG]

    First Floor

    [​IMG]

    Roof

    [​IMG]

    Outside from high



    Like I said, i'm no architect, need to work on it more yet :)
     
  10. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    Just hope they never add a gravity mod or those 2 towers are gonna topple :p


    Seriously though I think it looks great. I was thinking I would make my Beta site similar to that to avoid the resources needed to protect a large sized base like my Alpha site. Mo'creatures = painful to keep safe from ogres. BTW neat tip...layer 127-64 = premium coal locations. I found digging from layer 60-80 (branch mining) landed me a ton of iron/coal which are the premium materials for me when building. Least till I get diamonds for tools on layers 5-16 :p

    I prefer to make all buildings out of stone/half stones and ground out of wood/cobble with my paintry pack it looks good.

    *edit*
    Here is my current setup.
    [​IMG]
    The largest building = stables can fit 24 horses. Rest are basic storage/growing facilities. I was thinking next base I would make big but stack it to avoid having such a large area to clear. I have to clear the mountains at least 10 blocks to prevent ogres from spawning and destroying my base :p

    I also put my nether portal in the mountain with a "Lava" floodgate to kill any mobs who come through. Its also small enough to kill ghasts.


    I like it but I HATE the install for it...fails to work with me and when it does get installed I get odd GUI issues with certain blocks. I wish they had a more custom "pick and choose" setup like Paintry Pack does.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011
  11. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    Cheers, built the towers then looked frOm the outside and thought it looked weird :D expect a redesign soon!

    Been reading loads of forums and seems to suggest optimum mining for diamonds is at level 12
     
  12. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    Looking again, mIght build up from the base beneath the turrets to even it out
     
  13. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    Yeah but they can spawn from 5-16 but the world is big enough it shouldn't matter. Branch every 3 and just go for miles :p
     
  14. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    Weirdly, everytime I have just stumbled across diamonds, then started branch mining and found nothing!
     
  15. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    Well the idea of branching is to increase the odds of finding them. Diamonds are the rarest resource in the game and usually don't spawn like iron/coal will. Usually you will find 1-2 diamonds (rare 4-6) at a time.
    The idea behind this is every 4th dig a tunnel so its Dig-1-2-3-Dig-1-2-3-dig thus you will have the BEST chance of finding diamonds using this method.
    For the 30 branch tunnels I did I pulled 44 diamonds out. Each branch was 6 torches long (8 blocks = 1 torch) so 48 blocks long.

    Using pixel map after I missed a total of 8 diamonds so I found 36 diamonds within 2 hours.



    If you like I can log into server and show you what I mean if you like.
     
  16. Aastii

    Aastii VIP Member

    Messages:
    13,291
    [YT]rBXiYKppfpk[/YT]

    just wow, that is incredible

    [YT]j4qQHWP0GXg[/YT]

    [YT]aAwdL49YXtQ[/YT]
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011
  17. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    Might take you up on that twist, in fairness I have strip mined how you say with little success but I guess there's still an element of luck

    I'm on teamhex's server currently, thinking now of getting people together, see if we can't build a mini city!
     
  18. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    yeah I stole some materials from your base and replaced them all ready :p . I tried your level 12 and thus far its been dull on diamonds but not far into it yet. The major point of concern is the lack of lava I am running into.

    So far though found about 2 stacks of iron so destroying picks left and right to speed things up. Once you find diamonds you usually will find more in the area. The closer to lava you are generally the better chance of diamonds. 6-10 = lava (lots) and 6-16 is where diamond spawn. Most my diamond is around 6-11.


    *edit*
    ROFL I ran into your strip mine with one of my branches :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011
  19. jimmymac

    jimmymac VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,323
    In fairness I've found this server quite bland for caverns and lava, dug down two huge holes that you may have noticed and mined out another massive area but come across little lava or underground caves, quite strange!

    Feel free to take what you like from the chest though, not too much useful stuff there! Guess the problem we have is timezones, I'll be active in about 9 hours on the server
     
  20. Twist86

    Twist86 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,887
    Yeah so far I found 10 diamonds around 90 iron and 29 of that new blue ore. BTW your doing branching wrong :p When you get on (I am currently on) I will show you how I do it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011

Share This Page