Windows 10

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Geoff, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    As of an hour ago.
     
  2. Jiniix

    Jiniix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    Did you make a 32 and 64 bit ISO?
     
  3. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    Nope, just 64 bit. I believe if creating both its almost 6 gb. This is barely under 5. I'll post file size when I get home.
     
  4. Jiniix

    Jiniix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    Damn, all that data collecting takes space :D

    Edit: Not sure if insider builds are different, just looked since I'm slacking at work :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2017
  5. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    Here is the difference between downloading it in August and yesterday.

    windows 10.jpg
     
  6. Intel_man

    Intel_man VIP Member

    Messages:
    5,774
    I can confirm that the current download for Windows 10 64bit from the media tool is 4,641,536 KB.
     
  7. speedyink

    speedyink VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,452
    Well isn't that dandy.

    On another note, anyone having issues with Windows Explorer working extreeeemely slowly from time to time? It seems to be drive specific, like right now, my F: is taking like 10-30 seconds to navigate through folders, where C: is just fine. And it's not just file navigation, scrolling is very delayed, clicking on items causes delay, it's like the whole Explorer window is running on a Pentium 75mhz. Reboot and bam, it's all good again. This is the second time it's happened. I don't think it's a failing drive either, because once I do find like say a high bit rate 1080p blueray rip, it plays just fine. Also like I said, a reboot will clear it up for a while until it randomly happens again weeks later.

    I've fresh installed on this computer so it's not an upgrade issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2017
  8. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    I would run a diagnostic on that specific drive.
     
  9. speedyink

    speedyink VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,452
    Ok I've done a test with the seagate tool (SMART test) and it passes. An error scan in windows comes up with nothing, and an error scan in HD Tune comes up as 0.0% damaged blocks.

    If there's another tool I should be using let me know.
     
  10. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    SMART tests are kinda useless and a hard drive can be failing long before it throws a SMART error. Run the Seatools long generic test for a thorough check of every sector. Windows check isn't great either, although I haven't heard of HD Tune
     
  11. Jiniix

    Jiniix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    What build is it? I have both 14393.0 and 14393.479 ISOs, which are around 4GB exact. The latter downloaded this weekend.
     
  12. speedyink

    speedyink VIP Member

    Messages:
    4,452
    I didn't see a whole lot of info when it finished, just 'Long Generic - Pass'. Luckily this program seems to keep the logs, so if there's something else I should have looked at I should be able to bring it up without rescanning.

    Like I said, I think it's something with Windows. I did some googling and stumbled across this post which also explains the problem I was having with Explorer jumping to the top of the page all the time:
    https://www.tenforums.com/general-support/7009-file-explorer-extremely-slow-unstable.html

    Which contained this suggestion:
    https://www.howtogeek.com/219936/how-to-disable-quick-access-in-file-explorer-on-windows-10/

    Gonna try it out, hope that clears both those issues. Drives me nuts when Explorer jumps to the top on me, so really hope this fixes it!
     
  13. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    I actually used this to a fresh install the other day, I just now checked what build it is and its 14393.693. So unless there was an update after I installed than I don't know what build it was.
     
  14. Jiniix

    Jiniix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    That's the most current version atm. .576 -> .693 should be a 1GB update, as far as I can see. So it makes sense.
     
  15. Dimitri

    Dimitri Member

    Messages:
    464
    I'm having troulbe with Win10 updates.

    I tried the group policy method to change the update policy and I set it to "allow local admin to change..." and I click update (so that it would take) but it still says "updates will be downloaded automatically" and I can't change squat.

    Then I set it to "notify me" and it STILL says "updates will be downloaded automaticall."

    I even tried to set it to "notify" with Winaero Tweaker, but even that didn't take.

    HOWEVER, some days ago I got notified that this update is available:

    Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool for Windows 8, 8.1, 10 and Windows Server 2012, 2012 R2, 2016 x64 Edition - February 2017 (KB890830).

    And it WASN'T installed automatically. Matter of fact, I've been avoiding it for a while now :) Periodically I'll get a message that says something like "Updates need to be installed" but I can close it.

    Trouble is, there's no way for me to just dismiss this update and tell Win to not ever download it, furthermore, I imagine that when ANOTHER update comes, one that I DO need and want, I won't be able to install it without also installing this thing I don't want.
     
  16. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
    The only version of 10 that you can set not to install updates is windows 10 pro.
     
  17. Intel_man

    Intel_man VIP Member

    Messages:
    5,774
    Do you know if the Educational version has that option as well?
     
  18. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,060
  19. Intel_man

    Intel_man VIP Member

    Messages:
    5,774
    Good to know as I get 2 copies of the educational Win 10 key for being at a post secondary institute.
     
  20. Dimitri

    Dimitri Member

    Messages:
    464
    Sorry, I should have said, I have Win10 Pro N.
     

Share This Page